New York Courts dot gov
New York StateUnified Court System

Madison County Courts


Supreme Court

Matrimonial Preliminary Conference Notice

Matrimonial preliminary conferences are governed by Uniform Rule §202.16(f).

Full compliance with this rule is required.

In particular, please note the following:

  • A Statement of Net Worth and Retainer Agreement are to be filed with the Court no later than 10 days prior to the preliminary conference. Domestic Relations Law § 236B(4)(a) requires each party to file a statement of net worth with the clerk of the court within 10 days after joinder of issue.
  • Additionally, the Court and opposing counsel must be provided with a copy of the net worth statement at the time of the conference.
  • Both parties must be personally present in court at the time of the conference.
  • The matters to be considered at the conference may include:
  • Applications for pendente lite relief, including interim counsel fees;
  • Compliance with the requirement of compulsory financial disclosure, including the exchange and filing of a supplemental statement of net worth indicating material changes in any previously exchanged and filed statement of net worth;
  • Simplification and limitation of issues
  • Settlement of all or some portions of the case
  • The establishment of a timetable for the completion of all disclosure proceedings, provided that all such procedures must be completed within six months from the date of the conference