New York Courts dot gov
New York StateUnified Court System

Educational Tools - The David A. Garfinkel Essay Contest

Law Day was designated by President Eisenhower as a “day of national dedication to the principle of government under law.” In honor of the 50th Anniversary of Law Day, celebrated in 2008, The Historical Society of the Courts of the State of New York created the David A. Garfinkel Essay Contest.


2014 Essay Prize Winners

The topic of this year's contest was Who Watches the Watchers? Free Speech and Free Press in the Electronic Age.

2014 Essay Prize Winners

L-R NYS Community College Grand Prize winner Zachary Field from Onondaga Community College,
Associate Judge of the Court of Appeals Jenny Rivera,
CUNY Community College Prize winner Lida Ramos Arce from Queensborough Community College
and SUNY Community College Prize winner Rhonda Parker from Genesee Community College.


2014 Honorable Mentions

Claire Albrecht, Queensborough Community College
Wei Bin Bai, Queensborough Community College
Misey Loucks, SUNY Adirondack
Eileen McDonagh, Nassau Community College
Ryan Polito, Onondaga Community College
Amanda Seepersaud, Queensborough Community College
Erwin Soria, Queensborough Community College
Daniela Teshima Valenzuela, Queensborough Community College
Rebecca Woodruff, Genesee Community College
Mirkala Zuna, Queensborough Community College


Past Winners: 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008